Department History and Features:

Soochow Philosophy is celebrating its 40th anniversary in 2020.  Established in 1980, the department was founded on the endorsement of Dr. Tuanmu, a former president of Soochow, with his educational vision and his famous slogan: “Without the philosophy department, a university does not deserve the name of being a university”.

With this significant historical background, our philosophy program has been striving to offer students, philosophy major in particular and all other majors in the university, a strong liberal arts education, to prepare them for advanced works in all subjects and to equip them with the abilities of logical reasoning and critical thinking, applicable to a wide variety of professions.

There are 28 part-time and full-time lecturers who all possess philosophical professional knowledge. There are 13 full time professors of whom two are long term full-time visiting professors, four professors, one associate professors, four assistant professors and two project assistant professors. All full time professors got their PhD degree from domestically and Internationally renowned schools. There are 15 part-time professors of whom five are professors, four assistant professors and six lecturers. 

Address:111-02 No.70, Linxi Rd., Shilin Dist., Taipei City (Room D0827, No.2 Education Building)
Phone::02-2881-9471 ext. 6212~6214

Webmaster: Tina Yang & Yating Yang 


|Goto Top |